Songs that Saved your Life: It’s so Easy

As we belatedly celebrate 30 years of their seminal debut album, we get all nostalgic for a song that saved our life, Guns n’ Roses’ ‘It’s So Easy.’
Do you remember the first album you bought? At age nine, Appetite for Destruction was mine. It was on cassette and from a long-since boarded-up Woolworths in town. The excitement to get it home had, until then, only ever been equalled by Christmas morning.

Songs that Saved your Life - It's so Easy
‘Welcome to the Jungle’, ‘Sweet Child o’ Mine’ and ‘Paradise City’ had all been single releases that I’d taped off of the radio. I’d never seen or heard anything like it! Gn’R seemed mad, bad and dangerous to know. Slash made me want to play guitar and smoke, whilst Axl fooled me into thinking bandanas and white leather jackets were appropriate clothing choices.
As ‘Welcome to the Jungle’ faded out, I was unprepared for what came next. The 3rd verse closed with the evocative “Why don’t you just…fuck off!” Like a shot, my stereo was turned down from 11 to 2. Did my parents hear? I felt sick. The album continued to be played at a 2 throughout the week, but soon crept up to full blast as I got infected by that Gn F’n R attitude.
You never forget your first time, and whenever I hear that opening frenetic sliding bass riff, I’m taken all the way back. Now fuck off.

RS

Leave a Reply

