Totes Quotes

“It’s not what you say, it’s the way you say it!” If I had a shiny new pound coin for every time I’d heard that, I’d be a rich, rich man. Trouble is, it’s not exactly accurate is it? Great dialogue transcends both the performance and the film from whence it came and has the ability to infiltrate popular culture and consciousness.
From the endlessly quotable to the words you wish you’d said yourself, every Friday will feature an iconic iteration. So in the words of Reservoir Dogs’ Joe Cabot…”Let’s go to work…”

img_3373

As we gear up for the release of Christopher Nolan’s Dunkirk, I’m casting my mind back to where my love for Nolan began: the amnesiac revenge thriller Memento. 

As Leonard (Guy Pearce) realises that in his quest to avenge his wife’s rape and murder, he’s been framed to kill the wrong man. When he feels he’s starting to lose grip of this particular memory, he turns his attention to the man who set him up: Teddy (Joey Pants) aka John G.

“I’m not a killer. I’m just someone who wanted to make things right. Can’t I just let myself forget what you’ve told me? Can’t I just let myself forget what you’ve made me do. You think I just want another puzzle to solve? Another John G. to look for? You’re John G. So you can be my John G… Will I lie to myself to be happy? In your case Teddy… yes I will.”

 

Which film quotes can’t you block out of your memory? Let us know in the comments below.

RS

Leave a Reply

