My Life in Film #2

I’ve got a secret: I’m addicted! I daydream about it when I’m driving. I think about it when I’m alone in the bathroom. If you’ve ever met me, I’m sorry but I was probably thinking about it when I was talking to you too.

I’m talking  about film, of course. Film has been instrumental in forming some of the friendships and relationships that are of most important to me. Film has influenced the language that I use, the books that I read and the music that I listen to. Most of all, film has been there for me at pivotal moments in my life; it’s a BFF who’s just as comfortable dumbing down with beers and pizza as they are engaging in existentialist chit-chat. In short, film is my everyday and film is my life.

To illustrate my point and exorcise my addiction, each week I will shed a tiny glimpse into how film affects my every day. Are you ready?

My Life in Film #2

My_Life_In_Film_TV_series

“Can I get…any of you @#!/?…a drink?”

Nick Frost’s Ed sure is something of a charmer in Edgar Wright’s Shaun of the Dead. When he’s not dropping N-Bombs on his white, middle-class friends or blasting Electro (not Hip Hop) into the early am, he’s offering to get a round in with the above adage.

Hilarious although inappropriate when on-screen. Even more so when meeting your soon-to-be-wife’s work colleagues IRL. How’s that for a slice of fried gold?

What are your My Life in Film moments? Let me know in the comments.

RB

One thought on “My Life in Film #2

Leave a Reply

